RSS Feed

Mother’s Day

Posted on

I mentioned on my last post that I was going to discuss my Mother’s Day Gift given to me by my beautiful Laney.  Well, first off, she created the most exquisite “bouquet of flowers” that consisted of a cut out of her hand print folded beautifully with a little yellow tissue paper in the center to look like a Calla Lilly.  I guess that’s what it was supposed to look like…my knowledge of flowers isn’t the best.  Anyway, three beautiful white flowers were mounted on popsicle sticks and place in a little terra cotta pot that she decorated with her own two hands.  The greatest thing about the plant is that I can’t kill it!  That is a miracle in and of itself.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t blessed with a green thumb or the desire to cultivate one.

I pledge to you, Laney, that I will cherish this potted plant always.  I will display it proudly in our home and I WILL NOT allow it get ruined under a pile of junk or shove it somewhere in a house cleaning rant.  It will be cherished always…until the flowers dry rot, of course.  Who knows, perhaps I’ll get the chance to embarrass you with it on your first date night.  Don’t get me wrong, it is nothing to be embarrassed about….unless you are a teenager, of course.

Part two of the gift was a questionnaire called “The Mother’s Day Fact Sheet”.  This is an edited version…check it out!

My mother’s name is Lori

She is 60 years old  (I’m actually 43 :()

She weighs 3 pounds. (I’ll tell you my diet tips later…)

I’d like to live with my mom for the rest of the days more years. (I’ll enjoy that while it lasts…)

My mother’s favorite T.V. show is American Idol (She knows me pretty well!)

I can tell when my mom is mad when she puts me in bed (Only occasionally true)

My mother deserves an award for hugs (That one brought a tear to my eye.)

Now, I am not so grateful about my daughter adding 17 years to my life.  Conversely, I am ever so happy that she reduced my weight by oh 100 pounds, give or take ;).  I also know that the day is coming when she will be eager to leave the nest.  I remember how sad my Mother was when I left the nest to go away to college; but, I returned for a while as many of us do.  And, I have made a resolution with myself that I will not whittle away the time worrying about the day when she flies away.  I will spend my time preparing her and strengthening her little wings.  Sure, I will be sad to see her go; but the other side of me will be so proud to watch her soar.  Interestingly enough, I know that our relationship will evolve into that beautiful friendship that I now have with my own mother.

What do you do with your children to prepare them for flight?  I would love to hear about it!!  Who knows, I might just write a book about it….

Much Love!!

Lori

PS:  A little science for you to think about…from the ages of 2-6, your child’s mind operates in a theta wave state.  This means that everything they observe goes into their subconscious mind.  The conscious mind actually isn’t even working at this point, everything bypasses straight into the subconscious.  They are highly creative and imaginative and can believe in magic and miracles during this stage.  Furthermore, the words and actions that they hear and see from all of us who have a hand in their upbringing go into the file cabinet of their psyche.  Make sure you are adding ‘files’ that will serve them well and help them reach great heights.  In other words, don’t fill their subconscious minds with nonsense that will lead to debilitating fears and erroneous beliefs .  I’ll tell you what I do.  I CONSCIOUSLY think about what I am going to say to Laney even if I am feeling impatient or angry.  I then structure my words and actions in such a way that the file I place in her cabinet is beneficial to her in the long run.  Think of it this way, do you want your child to lead a healthy and long life?  Based on research, their emotional state has a great effect on their physical health.  And, their emotional state will be a direct indication of the beliefs that are held in their subconscious minds.

PPS:  Oh, and if you are thinking that it is a lot of effort to control your words and actions…it isn’t.  When you practice it, it becomes second nature to you.  And, even if it is a great effort…isn’t is worth it?

Oh, and Laney when I receive my award for hugs, I’ll do it  With Arms Wide Open!!

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

One response »

  1. I’m certainly intrigued by any diet that could get you down to 3 pounds and still keep you alive. Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

