RSS Feed

Idol Worship…It’s Getting Better & Better

Posted on

Was anybody else distracted by that flaming red lipstick on Steven Tyler’s face last night?  I just wanted to reach through the television screen and wipe it off.  For those of you that don’t know me, I don’t like lipstick…much to my Mother’s dismay.  I think it feels sticky and gooey on my lips and I don’t wear it…anymore.   Sure, back in my “vanity” heyday (the 80’s) I wore it and plenty of makeup and of course enough hairspray to choke a chicken; but several years back I gave it up.  Occasionally, in honor of my Mom and my Grandmother I’ll slap some on.  Whenever I do, my MaMa says, “Oh, you decided to wear make-up today.”  You’ve gotta love her!!

Okay, enough with the rambling.  Let’s get down to some serious Idol business, shall we?  I have to say I am having a harder and harder time choosing this year.  I don’t know if I am trapped inside some idealistic, hearts and flowers alternate universe; but these guys are consistently sounding great to me!!  Do you agree?  If you don’t, please don’t burst my bubble!

Anyway, at the risk of being repetitive ( again) I truly got goosebumps when Jacob sang “Dance with My Father Again”.  I think it probably had something to do with the poignant moment between Jacob and Jimmy Iovine when they discussed losing their fathers at a young age.   Boy is that Jimmy warm and fuzzy, or what (haha)?  I also have to give Jake props for keeping it together…did you notice the little hiccup in the beginning?  Don’t know if you agree; but I loved the performance and I love him.

I was totally awed by Casey’s performance last night.  I don’t know about you; but, I was very surprised by his voice last night.  He didn’t growl as much and I love the growl; but, I didn’t miss it.   He is one versatile dude.  The song he chose (Maroon 5 “Harder To Breathe”) sounded like it was written for him.  In my opinion, and here my opinion is the only one that matters…he wins the “Original Naturability” award hands down.  I mean he really has it all…talent, versatility, swagger, confidence……just blessed.  I love him!!  He is definitely the most unlikely sex symbol; yet, he is!!

And, you are not going to be surprised to hear my pick for Best Performance…….James Durbin.  I think I want to give him a nickname.  What about Durby?  I like it!  When he came out in that get up last night with the marching band, I was hooked.  He had me at hello…so to speak.  Those pants did remind me of the ones the Nazi army wore, though; but he pulled it off!  Then when he hit those falsettos in the chorus of that song…you know the part where he sang “They will not force us…..”.  Not many people can pull that off and hold it.  Amazing!!!!  Do you think a “metal” singer can win?  Hmmm…not sure; but I am hoping!!  (Are you starting to see what I mean about him sounding like Axl Rose from Guns ‘N Roses?)

I’m actually a little afraid to talk too much about Durby because I fear I may have cursed Pia and Paul.  I mean all along I predicted that Pia would win…she got voted off.  Then on the very week that I picked Paul as my favorite…he got voted off.  Here’s hoping it was a coincidence.  Looking at that word right now (coincidence) and it looks funny; but, spellcheck says it’s right so I’m leaving it.  Anyway, Idol lovers, isn’t the season flying by?  I’m already getting sad about the inevitable end.  And, why don’t they do more than one season a year?  Oh well, you know Simon’s “X Factor” is right around the corner.  Guess I’ll have to give it a shot.  Thanks for stopping by and please leave me a comment in the box below because I want to know your picks….promise me you will!!

Much Love!!

Lori

PS  I want to sincerely thank all of you for coming back!!  To date I have had over 7000 views on this site and I am just beginning this amazing journey that is going to lead me to great things and I am so happy to have you on the ride with me.  Don’t leave, because you know that I can use somebody…someone like you.

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

Leave a Reply

