RSS Feed

Idol Worship…So Long Paul!!

Posted on

Watching Idol last night was bittersweet for me.  I miss Pia!  Word has it, though, that Interscope records is already gearing up to work with her.  At this point, nothing has been confirmed; but, I suspect Jimmy Iovine will grab this shooting star while he can.  Wouldn’t it be cool if she had a single released while the Idol season was still running?  I know I am hoping for it.

I have to say I am a little torn on my picks today.  Here’s why….Lauren sang one of Laney’s absolute favorites…The Climb (Miley Cyrus).  As Randy would say, she slayed it!!  I love the song too.  I think the message is beyond inspiring.  Another thing I love about her is her emotion.  At any given moment, she looks like she could burst into tears and you can really hear that in her voice.  I’m sitting here listening to it back on YouTube and I can feel it!!  I think the way she phrased the chorus and the slight adjustment to the arrangement was brilliant!!!  She definitely gets my “Goosebump Award”.  Decisions, decisions…..

Now, Casey Abrams came sporting some huge cojones last night.  Jimmy nearly fell asleep watching him rehearse the song.  Will.i.am looked like he just smelled something really rank (Do you think Jimmy farted at that precise moment?).  I, in my own infinite musical wisdom, was also a little more than TERRIFIED about his song choice.  Guess what, we were wrong!!  I hate to admit this, and please don’t think badly of me for doing so; but, (engage whisper) I didn’t know the song :(.   I do now….and I love it!!  He is the hands down “Original Naturability” Award winner!!  Did you see the standing O?

Now, I am in a great pickle.  (Dill..I don’t like the sweet kind.)  Do I choose Laney’s aforementioned favorite?  No, I think I will just leave her with the GB…and honorable mention.

I  totally adored Paul last night.  Is it just me or does he remind you of a cross between Mick Jagger and Joe Cocker?  I don’t know what he is, but it makes me a whole lotta happy to watch him.  He has so much fun performing .   And I strongly believe Crest will be naming him as the next spokesperson for their White Strips.  Warning though, he has some fierce competition with my Dad and my sister.  They are teeth whitening addicts!!  Do you think they have a 12 step program for that?  Maybe I should ask Charlie Sheen..haha!  Anyway, Paul wins my vote for favorite performance.

Cut to Friday….I am afraid I have been caught up in the tyranny of the urgent this week…sorry.  Don’t leave me now, I promise to continue my frequent posting in the upcoming weeks.  But now, I am doubly sad :(.   Paul got voted off.  I will so miss his enthusiasm and uniqueness.  Oh, and those embroidered suits….do you think it would be appropriate for me to get one for my husband?  He is an Investment Advisor.  Let me know your thoughts on that and also enclose some links or suggestions about where to purchase one.  I (& Ed, of course) greatly appreciate it!!  Well, I must go for now; but, please visit often and don’t be shy…Speak Up!!

Much Love!!

Lori

PS  Filing an extension on the video thing….it is coming very soon!!  You simply must check in daily or you might miss it!!   Click here  to hear my favorite song choice from Wednesday.

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

Leave a Reply

