RSS Feed

Not So Creepy Crawlers

Posted on

Happy Gratitude Day!

 

Well, it seems that I have a new career.  Chasing my bliss has led me down a path I never expected to go.  I now have a caterpillar farm.  Yes, it’s true.  While conducting a little “conquer your fear” session with Laney yesterday, it seems I created a fearless monster of the adorable blond haired, blue eyed variety.  While walking around in our imaginary garden we came across a number of the little fuzzy butterfly wannabes crawling around.  As Laney said to me, they are getting ready to go into their “raccoons” to become butterflies…not paraphrasing…she said it!  I could tell she wanted to pick one up but she was too busy squealing and dancing around as if she was about to wet her pants.  So I, having absolutely no fear of worms, frogs or lizards, picked one up.  After some amount of coaxing and assuring Laney that it was perfectly safe to hold one…..she actually did it.  I knew she would feel elated if she met the fear head on and just did it; so I suppose I asked for it.  I am very proud of her.  More importantly, she is very proud of herself.  I don’t think her feet have hit the floor since!    Now, as we speak, we have ten ( & counting)  lovely caterpillars living on our deck.  We visit them often.  We talk to them as if they were other children even though Laney informs me that they have no ears.  She actually asked me to call the neighbors because she wants to set up a “caterpillar stand” to find good homes for them.  I am trying to find a way to postpone such a thing; however, it is quite possible that my neighbors might just have to come purchase a caterpillar soon.  I do question whether she would actually let them be taken off the property, though.  That might be my angle to avoid the issue!

So, today on this beautiful Sunday, I am grateful for those little caterpillars.  I am even more grateful for Laney.  In her almost 5 years of life, she has taught me to be a better person.  I don’t know if we get more than one life; but, if I had to guess I would say that she has lived many.  She has such wisdom and grace.  She brings me such an appreciation of the little things in life (I mean, hell, I’m writing about caterpillars today!).  She inspires me to consciously make better choices.  In her eyes I see so much love and promise.  There is not a day that goes by that I don’t thank her for loving me…out loud!!  I am quite certain that God created her with me in mind.  He knew we would be perfect soul mates.  I used to wonder how I would ever deserve her; but now I don’t question that.  I know in my heart that I am as  great of a gift to her as she is to me and I am ever so grateful for that!  When you look at the gifts that YOU have been given don’t forget to include yourself.   You, my dear, are your greatest gift!!

 

I dedicate this  post to the memory of our old friend and caterpillar “Jeffrey”.  I am afraid Jeffrey met his fate on the bottom of Laney’s cowboy boot.  I heard her say, “Mommy, I think Jeffrey peed on the deck.”  Well, it wasn’t pee!  So, we learned another valuable lesson…….. letting go.  Rest in Peace, Jeffrey  (Died April 1, 2011)!!  He was a fuzzy friend who was never meant to be a butterfly.

Much Love!!

Lori

PS  My song choice today is a beautiful harmonic masterpiece called “Teach Your Children” by the legendary band Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.  The band formed out of a few key breakups of some other phenomenal groups called “The Byrds”, “Buffalo Springfield”, & “The Hollies”.  Word has it that one Cass Elliot (The Mama’s and The Papa’s) was instrumental in the genesis of the partnership by connecting David Crosby and Graham Nash at a party in her home.  (May she rest in peace.)  Stephen Stills and Neil Young rounded out the band.  The foursome had a lot of stops and starts and breakups and reunions through the years.  They performed as Crosby, Stills & Nash.  They did a lot of solo stuff.  They formed duos with each other.  Certain members hated each other at times.  One notorious member (hint: Young) was in and out.  But, when they were together magic happened.  I believe in the school of music, the chapter on effective harmonies could be written using them as the sole example.  They are brilliant!!   This song gives me goose bumps and if you listen closely you will hear a lot of valuable lessons worthy of teaching to our children…….Click on the link and it will take you to YouTube to hear it!!

PPS  Graham Nash wrote the song…..

watch?v=1mDd9MPD_5Y&feature=related

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

27 responses »

  1. sent by the Q from the UK

    Reply
  2. RIP Jeffrey

    Q sent me 😉

    Reply
  3. Q Sent me..and I’m glad he did, Great Stuff!

    Reply
  4. “Q sent me”

    Reply
  5. Q sended me.

    LOL @ Racoons!

    Reply
  6. Caterpillars are very cool. That’s indisputable.

    Reply
    • Ahh.. it’s so true…as we speak I have two on the deck who have already gone into their “raccoons”…….looking forward to the butterflies

      Reply
  7. Q sent me. Takes guts to chase your bliss. 😉

    Reply
  8. Your writing is great! 🙂

    Reply
  9. The caterpillar stand may replace the lemonade stand as a childhood rite of passage.

    Reply
    • I think you might be right….do you think it’s too seasonal?

      Reply
      • But isn’t a lemonade stand somewhat seasonal? Caterpillars could be the stand for spring, lemonade for summer. Fall and winter can be for taking a break and spending their earnings.

      • Good point….although, here in Georgia the hot, humid summers are very, very looooooong! I actually remember sweating on Christmas Day before! But, you are definitely right, we’ll diversify the “farm”. I suppose we could call it the “Sour Creeper Ranch” or “The Lemonade Crawl” or oh to hell with it…you come up with a witty name. YOU are the master of wit!! Thanks again for coming by!!!!!!!

  10. I agree, I keep learning more and more about myself, and the better I can become, from my son. It is amazing what the little people can teach us!

    Great post!
    Flora

    Reply
    • Flora, I can honestly say that I have learned more from that little girl in her short nearly 5 years of life than in my own 43 years of life, school and college and career. Man, am I grateful!! Thank you so much for stopping by! Don’t be a stranger!

      Reply
  11. This was such a cute story! I can see this cute little girl bouncing around looking at the caterpillars. I loved them growing up, also. I never got to see the “raccoons” though.

    Reply
    • Hey, if you will stop on by the house I now have two outside on my deck. Thanks…as cute as you imagine she was…multiply by 100000000000!!!

      Reply
  12. My favorite so far! I’ll tell you a story about lady bugs one day…

    Reply
  13. Respect yourself, or no one else will respect you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

