RSS Feed

Sell-A-Brate the Sell-Outs!

Posted on

You know the law of attraction never fails!!  Today I jumped onto the computer and something told me to read this blog that I’ve become very interested in recently.  You can visit too and I highly recommend you do.  The address is http://www.thegoodgreatsby.com (don’t you love the name…I do!).  Paul Johnson, the author, is a great writer with a very sarcastic and ironic sense of humor which I adore.  Anyway, he recently posted a title called “I’ll Never Sell Out” and it inspired me to write this.

I can’t tell you how many times my husband and I have discussed the topic of selling out.  I mean we are perplexed at the whole concept.  People talk about it as if it is some dastardly act which deserves to be penalized.  Frankly I think that is such bullshit!  And as I often do I had to consult with my dear friend Google to get to the bottom of what this ridiculous and nebulous term really means.  Google, in turn, sent me to another person I have grown quite attached to named Wikipedia.  And now hold on to your knickers here; because Wiki actually has a definition for it as well as a whole page or so of examples.  I know what you are thinking…shut the front door, right?  I assure you I could not make this stuff up.  Besides, you can wiki it yourself to validate me if you want.  Anyway, here’s what the definition of selling out is:

“Selling out” refers to the perception that someone is compromising their integrity, morality, or principles in exchange for money or “success” (however defined).  It is commonly associated with attempts to tailor material to a mainstream audience.  Any artist who expands their creative path to encompass a wider audience, as opposed to continuing in the genre and venues of their initial success, may be disdainfully labeled by disapproving fans as a sellout.  Sometimes a sellout is seen as a person that is disloyal to one’s group that he or she belongs (usually ethnic group) in order to gain money or become “successful”.  Selling out is often seen as gaining success at the cost of credibility.”

Now, check out this first example.  Under the header of “politics” which you know to be one of my least favorite topics, the example given is ‘a sellout is a person or group pretending to adhere to a genuinely pro-working class ideology, only to follow these claims up with actions directly contradicting them, often supporting capitalism.’ Okay does anyone else see the glaring hypocrisy here?  Is it actually possible to support a working class sect without supporting capitalism?  I mean where are the working class heroes going to be working without any companies to WORK FOR!!  Are we all supposed to be employed by the government; or better yet, supported by the government?

Now, moving on to my favorite topic…Music!!    You see, I have a theory.  I highly suspect that in the music industry you have to compromise a little bit to get a record deal.  It’s kind of like when you take a job that really isn’t your dream job to get your foot in the door.  Then you bust your ass to do a good job and get noticed so that you can get the “dream job” you wanted in the first place.  Is that a sell out?  Nobody I know would perceive it that way.  So I guess the clincher is… that it is only perceived as a sellout if someone actually makes a lot of money doing it…AHA!   It really doesn’t have anything to do with morality or credibility or musical genre or whatever.  It’s that green eyed monster…envy!  People climb the ladder and when they reach the top there are those who simply want to take them down a notch.  But, if we turn it around and actually sell-a-brate (get it?) other people’s successes won’t we attract more success too.  Why yes we will.

Now, I have to say that I am so grateful for all the “sell-outs” out there.  They make me dance and sing.  They make me laugh and cry.  They give generously to help people that need the help.  They are not a strain on the government because they are self sufficient.  They are great contributors to our tax base which helps feed and educate people.  They are a glowing example of following your passion.  They continue to create amazing songs, art, new technology, and any number of modern conveniences.  They are dreamers and renegades.  They pioneer new paths that our children can travel down on their journey to abundance and bliss.  They are human and sometimes they do questionable things I am sure; but shouldn’t we focus on the tremendous benefit to society that they are?  I mean, I know I am a little “Pollyanna” here; but somebody has to be!!  Besides, the following list are some of the common denominators of people that are often classified as sell-outs:

  • Follow Their Passion
  • Extremely Successful
  • Creative and Innovative
  • Willing to Do Whatever It Takes (ie Paying Dues)
  • Philanthropic
  • Self-Sufficient
  • Inspirational
  • Adventurous
  • Live Exciting & Abundant Lives

So, that selling out thing…not so bad, huh?  I think I want in; how about you?

Much Love!!

Lori

PS  If you close your eyes and open your heart and mind you will see things so much more clearly!  LRH

PPS One ‘sell-out’ I love is an artist named Pink.  She was discovered by a guy name L.A. Reid who co-founded a record company called LaFace Records in Atlanta!!  L.A. is responsible for introducing us to some madly talented artists whom you may have heard of….Mariah Carey, Justin Bieber, Rihanna, Kanye West, Avril Lavigne, Toni Braxton, TLC, Usher, Ciara & OutKast.  When he started working with Pink (aka Alecia Moore) he pressured her to make a record that wasn’t exactly her forte.  It had a strong R&B vibe to it and she considered herself an edgy pop rock chick.   She did it anyway.  The album “Can’t Take Me Home” sold 5 million copies.  Then, being the self proclaimed pain in the ass that she is; she badgered L.A. to let her make the next album (Missundaztood) her way.  It went on to sell 15 million copies worldwide!!  She gave a little on the front end; and on the rear end she got…..freedom!!   And we got a whole bunch of killer tunes!!  Hope you like this one…….Pink \”Don\’t Let Me Get Me\”

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

20 responses »

  1. Great Post Lori, being in alignment with your passion! So key!

    Reply
  2. nice style

    Reply
  3. LunaticWithAGun

    Q sent me.

    Reply
  4. I find your writing interesting. Q was right…

    Reply
  5. Q sent me

    Reply
  6. Good stuff. your doing fine! sentbyQ

    Reply
  7. Mark S. Cornholio

    Some guy named ‘Q’ made me do it.

    Reply
  8. Q sent me

    Reply
  9. Bludgeonmonkey

    The power of Q compelled me. 🙂

    Seriously, having spent time in the music industry in several capacities I more than get your take on “selling out”. I know lots of IT folks who “sold out” by working hard and getting certifications etc. in order to be successful. Nothing wrong with working within the system as long as you keep your moral compass set.

    Reply
  10. Q summoned me from the deepest pits of ARFCOM and insisted I read this blog entry. I came expecting a train wreck and instead all I get is a well written article explaining a reasoned and rational opinion. Well, you are never going to get anywhere on the internet if you go around making sense all the time. Who wants that? Success on the internet comes from making outrageous statements devoid of any logic or common sense… Which sort of brings us full circle back to the whole “selling out” thing.

    Seriously, your writing is perfectly fine and probably a whole lot better than mine is. And you can think too. In another entry you talked about how certain thoughts get embedded in your head as a child and they become part of how you live. There are many ideas and concepts, “selling out” among them, which become embedded in our consciousness at a young age. These ideas shape how we live. But many of these ideas are either meaningless or completely false. Finding these ideas, analyzing them, and showing that they are false (or true as the case may be) is therefore important. I had never spent much time thinking about the idea of “selling out” but I think you pretty well nuked the entire idea.

    Keep up the good work.

    Reply
    • You might win the prize for funniest comment ever on here! Hey, thank Q for me. and come back to read more……or send some logical,common sense friends my way. Thanks a million!

      Reply
  11. Lori (not Laura, Laurie or Lora). As a member of Q’s posse I agree with Thuban above. You have the creative ability to capture the reader in very few sentences and keep them interested. Find your groove and keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

