RSS Feed

I’ll Sing At Your Wedding

Posted on

tolerance (tol-er-uhns)  a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward those whose opinions, practices, race, religion, nationality, etc., differ from one’s own; free from bigotry.

I hear a lot of people talking about tolerance.  “I strive to be tolerant.  I’m raising my kids to be tolerant, etc…”    While I like the word and the definition is okay I guess.  Isn’t it time to start expecting tolerance like it would be ludicrous not to?  Shouldn’t we take a big step further…how about we embrace differences and celebrate each other?  Embrace means to take or receive gladly or eagerly; accept willingly.  It just sounds a lot better, doesn’t it?  See, my problem with the word tolerance is the part about “permissive”.  Is that really the pinnacle of our social aspirations here?  We are going to permit each other to be different from us.  The audacity of that is astounding.  It is neither my right or my desire to give someone permission for living his or her life.  My belief is I think the majority of people are tolerant, compassionate, generous & kind.  I want to hear your story of people embracing the differences in each other.  Come back with it.  See, I have a theory…I think people are ready to see a shift to good news over bad.  Bad things happen, they do.  Great things are happening too; but, can you name one you have heard in the media recently?

I think my biggest concern with intolerance is with the “Gay Marriage” debate.  I believe that everyone is entitled to marry whomever (or should it be whoever…can’t remember which).  You know John McCain was on the Ellen Degeneres show (clip on YouTube) talking about this issue.  I am not picking on him..he is one of many idiots saying the same thing.  They think we can just call it domestic partnerships.  How about you don’t tell me what to call it, John?  How about you mind your own freaking business for a change?  Do you think our forefathers thought our government would be mandating these kinds of decisions?  Hell no!!!  And why does the change in “semantics” make a difference.  Is it because we are carrying out what we think God wants?  Well the God I know says that I am not the judge and jury.  Thou shalt not judge!  Have you ever heard that one before?    Take the gay marriage issue off the table, NOW!!  Furthermore, about this “born that way” or choice thing…who cares?   I am heterosexual so I may be overstepping my bounds here; but what is the point to this?  It is almost as if we are saying well you are tainted in some way but we know it is really not  your fault (I don’t think it is a fault at all.).  You didn’t choose this, you were born this way.  Now that hurts my feelings because I don’t view homosexuality that way at all.  I just think that people are attracted to who they are attracted to…end of story.  I think we love who we love.  I would never  presume that anyone would need an excuse or a reason to be who they are.

Now I do believe we have a come a long way on this.  We are making strides; but, the half-life of this “issue” is still too long!!  Please for the love of God, or Buddha, or the Universe……..stop!!  I insist, really.  We need to love each other.  We need to respect each other.  We need to embrace each other.  And if you simply cannot agree with someone else’s choices or be in close proximity to others who are different; then disagree and stay away.  It is not right to stand in someone else’s way to love and commit to who they want to.  Oh my, I just had a revelation when reading this back…I am doing it too.  I am fighting against what I don’t like and what I don’t want.  I am exerting my energy in an antagonistic way even though my intention is good.  Okay, let me self correct here.  I am so happy and grateful now that we are all living together in harmony.  I am abundantly thrilled that we recognize the beauty in each other.  The world is so much nicer now that we embrace the differences in one another.  I am proud to live in a world where we gravitate to what we want and believe in; and we ignore the rest.  I am blissful that girls are marrying boys and girls are marrying girls and boys are marrying boys.  I celebrate those of you who choose not to marry, too.  The world is more peaceful now.  The sun shines brighter.  The faces of people are more radiant.  We are working together to achieve great things and making amazing improvements.  Abundance is all around us and we can actually see it clearly.  I am so glad to be a part of this glorious time!!

Much Love!!

Lori Hamilton

PS  This post was inspired greatly by Bob Proctor.  Bob has pioneered the Law of Attraction movement and has been in the business of helping people to create abundant lives for 40 years.  He was not born with a silver spoon in his mouth.  He was in financial ruins once; but he changed… and he believed… and he ACTED… and he received an amazing dream.  And over the course of those 40 years he has helped so many others adjust their own thoughts, feelings and actions to achieve their dreams too.  Thank you Bob!!

PPS  For those of you who envision your marriage, get down on bended knee right now and propose to the one you love.  You wedding is waiting for you to walk down the aisle.  I’m wiping away a tear right now….I always cry at weddings!!

Thank you Train for this amazing song……………

watch?v=Ess2qlVHl6E

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

Leave a Reply

