RSS Feed

Idol Worship

Posted on

Oh my!  I fear we have quite a hard choice on our hands, America!  The Idol contestants this year are off the chain as they say.  Oh, and the judges, love does not begin to express how I feel about them.  I must confess, I was concerned about the future of American Idol sans Simon Cowell.  I do love that man!!  And, Kara, I do miss you.  I’m not really sure what happened there, I think you are fabulous and I really loved your contributions on the show.  You are missed.  Oh, and I musn’t forget about Ellen.  Ellen, I love everything you do.  The more I can see you on television the better; but, I understand the appeal of watching Idol from the comfort of your own home.  I get it!!  Well, in an effort not to cry over spilled milk let me just move right to now.  Steven, I have always been a huge Aerosmith fan.  Your music is definitely on my top ten list.  Jennifer, you are so beautiful and so knowledgeable about the music.  I mean, you can actually hear the notes..which is something I envy terribly.  Your passion for the art is palpable and I think you deliver the feedback in such a loving and constructive way.  It’s like a big warm hug when you tell them they suck..haha!  Oh, and Randy, dog, you must never leave the show.  Perhaps that would be the demise of the brand right there; so, that settles it, you must stay…FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!  Furthermore, as with any brilliant collaboration the sum of the three of you equals far more than three.  I can’t say that I understood all your choices in the elimination rounds as they were occurring; but, now that we are down to the top 13, I totally agree with every choice.  How did you know?  Its uncanny that you have that kind of insight.  These kids will certainly be inhabiting my iPod playlist very soon.

I think the reason I love Idol so much is that, firstly, if I could have one “God” given talent it would be to sing.  I mean I can sing and heaven knows I do sing at the top of my lungs; but, I really suck at it.  I firmly believe that I am tone deaf beyond all comprehension.   You know I have the heart and the passion when  I croon, there’s no question about it; but it’s really bad.  On occasion, while singing along to the radio, I think to myself…hmmm, that sounds pretty good.  So, I will turn down the volume so that I can enjoy the sound of my own voice and rather quickly I am snapped back to reality.  Perhaps, I should pursue some other career…yes, I shall.  The second reason I love Idol so much is that I am completely intoxicated by  witnessing people who have a dream and pursue it with such fervor.  We all have an obligation to do this for ourselves.  We certainly must teach our children to believe in themselves and go for their dreams; even if we don’t understand them.  How many successful people have you heard say, Do what you love and you will achieve great things?  I mean, take my daughter, Laney.  While she is only 4, she has written I don’t know how many songs.  I can’t say that I recognize all the words she uses; but she has already in these 4 1/2 years built a fan base of perhaps 20 or 30 adoring fans.  Look out world!!!  Oh, and furthermore, back to the inaudibility of the words…I can’t always tell what Elton is saying either and he’s my favorite!

Well, down to the nitty gritty…my favorites to now.  In honor of my 80’s heritage and my eternal love for rock and roll and hair bands, I have to choose James Durbin.  I know he has no hair; but his rendition of Paul McCartney’s “Maybe I’m Amazed” melted me, I have to admit.  Such a departure from the Judas Priest song from last week (which I also loved).  I also completely love Casey and Paul…how unique are they?  Oh, and that Pia gal is no slouch either and easy on the eyes.  She may just be our next AI.  Now all the others are perfectly lovely and talented too, but I have to get the munchkin ready for school and the housekeeper (i.e. : me) must come today or the house is going to be condemned.  Don’t forget to set your TiVo or DVR to record Idol twice each week.  I’ll give a wrap every week and we can discuss it.  Oh, and what’s better that American Idol?  American Idol on DVR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I am literally beside myself over this one.

I eluded to the performer of my closing song, earlier, so here goes:

Levon bears his war wound like a crown.

He calls his child Jesus

Because he likes the name

And he sends him to the finest school in town

Levon, Levon likes his money.

He makes a lot they say

Spends his days counting

In a garage on the motorway

He was born a pauper to a pawn on a Christmas day when the NY Times said “God is dead and the War’s Begun”

Ivan Tostig(Not sure if that’s right) has a son today…

And he shall be Levon, and he shall be a good man

And he shall be Levon, in tradition with the family plan

He     shall      be      Levon!!!

Levon sells cartoon balloons in town

His family business thrives

Jesus blows up balloons all day

Sits on the porch swing watching them fly

Now, Jesus, he wants to go to Venus

And leave Levon far behind

Take a balloon and go sailing

While Levon, Levon slowly dies

Repeat chorus..DAMNIT!!

My husband used to ask the question, “If you knew you would be trapped on a desert island for all eternity and could only take the music of one artist/band, who would it be?”  Most people have to give that a little thought, you know.  It takes some time to choose just one.  Not me, the singer of that song is my resounding answer every time.  No hesitation, no rumination…  Do you know who it is?  Yep, Elton John.  The collaboration of Elton John and Bernie Taupin is, in my opinion, the greatest musical partnership of all time.  I know you probably think its Paul and John (Beatles), Mick and Keith (Rolling Stones) or even Steven and Joe (Aerosmith) but it is Elton and Bernie for me.  Bernie wrote the lyrics and Elton would take the words and make them into music.  In an interview I watched (on Inside the Actor’s Studio with James Lipton) he said on average he spent no more than 30 minutes composing the melody around the words.  Talk about your true passion being divinely designed to feel effortless………..(took that from Elizabeth Grant…you can google her too)  At any rate, Elton and Bernie, thank you for the music.  It has brightened some of my brightest hours and eased some of my most painful ones and I will take you with me all the way.

Much love!!

Lori

PS:  Check out the story that Jack Canfield tells of the “Golden Buddha” on You Tube and see if you relate……..I know I do!

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

One response »

  1. Rose D. Rhodes

    I am going to have to start watching American Idol!!!! And if I could take one musician to a deserted island with me, it would most certainly be ELVIS, the KING!!!! I will never forgive your father for not agreeing to attend his last concert in Macon. Can you believe I continue to live with him????? Oh well, I must go and steer my housekeeper in the right direction…or I may just wait because I want to see what goodies I can find at the Peaches to Beaches yard sale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

