RSS Feed

Look… Listen…Judge NOT

Posted on

In life, I have always been a curious observer.  I am fascinated by listening to people talk about their life, opinions, problems and  achievements.  Oftentimes, we get so bogged down in the little things that our ego holds on to…scorekeeping, appearance, what others think, what others do, what they drive, what they have, what they don’t have.  Then, we turn around and we judge people for any number of ridiculous things.  But, somewhere on that path to enlightenment you realize that the person you are really judging is yourself.  And, the projection onto others is just a little game of diversion that our little ego plays.  But, as we know, the  answer is never out there…is it?

No, if we listen closely and allow our heart to hear it, God talks to us.  When we are having a negative emotion or harsh thought toward someone or something, we get that pain deep in our gut.  When we are coming from a place of compassion, understanding and love we feel elated.  That emotion is THE most important driver and if we open that door to receive these messages, we become the happiest, healthiest, most abundant version of ourselves.

I have carried the heavy cross of judgment in my life.  Frankly, the recipient of my harshest judgment (mostly undeserved) has always been  myself.  And, I can tell you from experience that when you lay that burden down, something completely magical occurs.  Aaaahhhh….bliss!  And, while I still kind of judge certain horrible things that people do, I tell myself that the judgment lies only in God’s hands (and maybe in a court of law) and I let it go.  That is one of the reasons I stopped watching the news and reading newspapers.  No one and nothing is served by me devoting even one iota of energy towards the gloom and doom.  Something kind of cool happens, too, when you consistently wear your rose colored glasses.  You see more good in the world.  More people make eye contact with you and smile at you.  Strangers say hello when walking by.  That emission of good vibes attracts the good in people, and the good people.  Most importantly, if magnifies the good in yourself.

I often think about a news organization that reports only good news.  I like to call it “The Good News Times”.  I would love it if you would contribute a good news story today.  It doesn’t have to be earth shattering.  World Peace or ending hunger or whatever isn’t necessary for this forum, just a simple story of someone doing something nice with no expectation of external reciprocation. Will you do it?  Pretty please!!

I’ll go first…a very special person named Jamie is making great strides to set up a foundation in honor of my cousin Brandice.  It is called the “Brandice Dawson Dupree” foundation and it will benefit cutting edge research for brain cancer treatment.  Jamie is working with an attorney, a CPA, and a web designer to get the ball rolling.  And, she works full time, has a husband and a beautiful toddler daughter.  Most importantly, she was friends with Brandice from birth.  She is the best friend anyone could ever have and because of her efforts, someday a life will be saved from this dreadful disease that remains a death sentence.  Somewhere a husband, a mother, a sister, a brother, a grandmother, a grandfather, an aunt, an uncle, a cousin or a dear friend will get to spend another day with someone who survived.  I wish this had not come at such a high price; but again…a silver lining, albeit a little tarnished.

Much Love!!

Lori

PS:  Just so you know, your intelligence is NOT measured by your knowledge of current events!!  I have to tell myself that from time to time!

PPS:  Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall….all you’ve got to do is call….and I’ll be there….You’ve got a friend!

About Lori

Headed to find my bliss...want to join me? You just might find yours along the way too!

6 responses »

  1. Absolutely awesome post!!! Enough said!!!

    Reply
  2. I agree with Lisa! And I have LOVED that song for longer than I want to say!!! LOL

    I want to thank Opal Thompson Wilcox who is spearheading an effort to start an Alzheimer’s Group in Pulaski County. This came at a time in my life where I can appreciate what an Alzheimer’s support group did for me when my mom had it AND it is also a time when I need to be putting some of my energy into something that will help other people. So a great big ‘thank you’ to Opal for taking on this challenge!

    Reply
  3. Ok Lori – my good news is finding your blog! So write some more! I’m my own worst enemy and searching for my own bliss and hopefully getting closer every day – thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

